

## The Connecticut General Assembly

## The Planning Commission for Higher Education

LEGISLATIVE OFFICE BUILDING, ROOM 1800 HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 06106-1591 PHONE: (860) 240-0271 / FAX: (860) 240-8833

## Judith K. Resnick, Chairperson

Membership List

(as of July 27, 2016)

NAME	APPOINTING AUTHORITY
E. Vagos Hadjimichael	Speaker of the House of Representatives
	Experience as former administrators or faculty members in
	independent institutions of higher education in this state.
Theresa Madonna	Speaker of the House of Representatives
	Experience as former administrators or faculty members in
	independent institutions of higher education in this state.
Booker T. DeVaughn	President Pro Tempore of the Senate
	Former administrator or faculty member of a regional
	community-technical college
Hedley C. Freake	President Pro Tempore of the Senate
	Former administrator or faculty member of The University of
	Connecticut.
David Walsh	Majority Leader of the House of Representatives
	Former administrator or faculty member of a state university
	in the Connecticut State University System.
Vacant	Majority Leader of the House of Representatives
	Former administrator or faculty member of Charter Oak State
	College.
Mary Lou Aleskie	Majority Leader of the Senate
	Experience in the field of arts and culture.
James Maroney	Majority Leader of the Senate
·	Experience in the field of health care.
Lois Schneider	Minority Leader of the House of Representatives
	Knowledge and expertise in science and technology.
Vacant	Minority Leader of the House of Representatives
	Knowledge and expertise in science and technology.
Andrea Comer	Minority Leader of the Senate
	Represent state-wide business organizations.
Vacant	Minority Leader of the Senate
	Represent state-wide business organizations.
Cyd Oppenheimer	Governor
	A representative of a nonprofit education foundation.
Judith Resnick, Chairperson	Governor
	A person with experience in university research and its
	commercial application.

Thomas Moore	Governor
	A person with experience in the field of education from
	prekindergarten to grade twelve, inclusive.
Judith Goldfarb	Governor
	Member at large.
Christopher Bruhl	Governor
	Member at large.
Mark E. Ojakian	President of the Connecticut State Colleges and
	Universities. Ex-officio nonvoting.
Dianna R. Wentzell	Commissioner of Education. Ex-officio nonvoting.
(Shannon Marimon, Designee)	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Catherine Smith	Commissioner of Economic and Community
(Lindy Lee Gold, Designee)	Development. Ex-officio nonvoting.
Scott Jackson	Labor Commissioner. Ex-officio nonvoting.
	Labor Commissioner. Ex-omcio nonvoling.
Susan Herbst	Chief executive officers of each constituent unit of
(Mun Choi, Provost & Executive Vice President for	the state system of higher education. Ex-officio
Academic Affairs, Designee)	nonvoting
Lawrence D. McHugh - UCONN	The chairperson of the boards of trustees of each
(Sally Reis, Vice-Provost, Designee)	constituent unit of the state system of higher
Matt Fleury – BOR	education. Ex-officio nonvoting.
(Jane Gates, Provost, Designee)	education. Ex-omete nonvoting.
Walter Harrison	Chairperson of the Board of the Connecticut
	Conference of Independent Colleges. Ex-officio
Lange (fan Miller and	nonvoting.
Jennifer Widness	President of the Connecticut Conference of
	Independent Colleges. Ex-officio nonvoting.
Roberta Willis	House Chairperson, Higher Education and
	Employment Advancement Committee, ex-officio
	nonvoting.
Danté Bartolomeo	Senate Chairperson, Higher Education and
	Employment Advancement Committee, ex-officio
	nonvoting.
Whit Betts	House Ranking Member, Higher Education and
	Employment Advancement Committee, ex-officio
	nonvoting.
Kevin Witkos	Senate Ranking Member, Higher Education and
	Employment Advancement Committee, ex-officio
	nonvoting.
Benjamin Barnes	Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management.
(Kerry Kelley, Designee)	Ex-officio nonvoting.
	EX officio flottroully.